DEO/DC Srinagar reviews preparedness for upcoming Elections

Stresses on preparing meticulous District Election Management Plan

SRINAGAR, FEB 10 : Deputy Commission(DC) Srinagar, Dr. Bilal Mohi-Ud-Din Bhat who is also the District Election Officer(DEO) Saturday chaired a meeting with Election Registration Officers(EROs), Assistant Election Registration Officers(AEROs) and District Election Machinery here at the Meeting Hall of DC Office Complex to review the preparations for upcoming General Elections.
At the outset, the DEO/DC Srinagar held a detailed discussion with the Officers present in the meeting and illustrated the various important aspects of the Election process mainly aimed at ensuring smooth and peaceful general elections in Srinagar District.
During the meeting, the roles of EROs and AEROs of all 08 Assembly Constituencies and other Election related machinery in smooth conduct of the elections were discussed in detail.
The DEO held deliberations with regard to polling stations/locations, assured minimum facilities available at polling stations, resource availability/manpower, logistics, transport plan, communication plan, training to the polling staff, EVM management plan, management of postal ballots, nomination of Sectoral and Zonal Magistrates and establishment of help-desks and information desks. The meeting also discussed material management plan, location of the distribution centres and the collection centres in threadbare.
Speaking on occasion. The DC/DEO stresses upon the Officers to prepare meticulous District Election Management Plan in order to ensure that electorates participate in the election process in large numbers in a hassle free manner.
DC/DEO directed the officers to conduct physical verification of each and every polling station/ location to ensure the availability of all assured minimum facilities, so as to ensure that no voter or poll staff faces any kind of difficulty during elections.
He emphasised upon the concerned officers to put in place all the necessary arrangements as per guidelines of ECI.
Earlier, the DC/DEO was informed that 748531 voters including 375221 male and 373286 electors are registered in Srinagar District in 8 Assembly Constituencies viz 19-Hazratbal, 20-Khanyar, 21-Habbakadal, 22-LalChowk, 23-Chanapora, 24-Zadibal, 25-Eidgah 26-Central Shalteng.
Additional Deputy Commissioner(ERO- Zadibal), Dr Khalid Hussain Malik, Additional Deputy Commissioner(ERO- Hazratbal), Syed Ahmad Kataria, Deputy District Election Officer, Nazia Hassan,EROs , AEROS and other concerned from District Election Authority were present in the meeting.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts